American Writers & Artists Inc. http://www.awaionline.com/ The latest news from American Writers & Artists Inc. en (c) 2014 American Writers & Artists Inc. Fri, 19 Sep 2014 16:36:35 -0400 http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss 60 Congratulations to AWAI’s Great Books Club October Winners! http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/congrats-to-awais-great-books-club-october-winner/ These ten lucky Great Books Club October Winners won copies of My Life in Advertising and Scientific Advertising. Congrats! Fri, 19 Sep 2014 16:36:35 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/congrats-to-awais-great-books-club-october-winner/ October Great Books Club Selection: My Life in Advertising and Scientific Advertising http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/my-life-in-advertising-and-scientific-advertising/ The October selection for the Great Books Club is My Life in Advertising and Scientific Advertising by Claude Hopkins. The discussion will take place on October 16. Fri, 19 Sep 2014 16:19:37 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/my-life-in-advertising-and-scientific-advertising/ How Do I Set and Negotiate Writing Fees? http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-set-and-negotiate-writing-fees/ Here’s some practical advice for making sure you get paid as much as possible, and get paid what you’re worth, without overpricing yourself out of the running. Fri, 19 Sep 2014 06:23:36 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-set-and-negotiate-writing-fees/ A Copywriting Lesson from the “Godfather” Himself http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/a-copywriting-lesson-from-the-godfather-himself/ Bootcamp speaker Herschell Gordon-Lewis is known for two things: direct-response marketing and gore. Check out Robert Rice's interview with this copywriting legend. Thu, 18 Sep 2014 15:15:52 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/a-copywriting-lesson-from-the-godfather-himself/ Limited-Time Offer: Save $50 on Creating Email Newsletters For Professional Service Firms — A Step-by-Step Guide http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/save-on-creating-newsletters-for-pro-service-firms/ AWAI is currently offering a special deal on Creating Email Newsletters For Professional Service Firms — A Step-by-Step Guide, written by Michael Katz. Thu, 18 Sep 2014 10:57:13 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/save-on-creating-newsletters-for-pro-service-firms/ How Do I Find Clients and Land Paying Assignments? http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-find-clients-and-land-paying-assignments/ Rebecca Matter answers the question she’s most often asked by writers who are just starting out: “Where do I find clients, and what do I do once I find them?” Thu, 18 Sep 2014 10:25:57 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-find-clients-and-land-paying-assignments/ E-newsletters: Try Not to Do This http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/e-newsletters-try-not-to-do-this/ Copywriters who do what they sell have more success getting clients. Michael Katz looks at how this applies to e-newsletter subject lines. Thu, 18 Sep 2014 06:42:16 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/e-newsletters-try-not-to-do-this/ How Do I Get Experience and Writing Samples? http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-get-experience-and-writing-samples/ Rebecca Matter helps move you past a potential roadblock on your journey to living the writer’s life, by giving you three great ways to show off your skills. Wed, 17 Sep 2014 06:33:08 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-get-experience-and-writing-samples/ How to Find Clients Who Will Pay What You’re Worth http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-to-find-clients-who-will-pay-what-youre-worth/ Finding qualified prospects, rather than just taking any work that comes your way, is key to success. Use these 6 steps to learn how to qualify prospects. Wed, 17 Sep 2014 06:23:52 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-to-find-clients-who-will-pay-what-youre-worth/ How Do I Know What To Do Next? (And Then?) http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-know-what-to-do-next-and-then/ It’s hard to put together a roadmap if you don’t know your destination! Rebecca Matter helps you with your roadmap here. Tue, 16 Sep 2014 06:55:23 -0400 http://www.awaionline.com/2014/09/how-do-i-know-what-to-do-next-and-then/